Mr Smith's personal blog

I haven’t been GOOD

I had promised myself that when I start writing, I wouldn’t stop. I had told myself that I’ll blitz through twenty posts in my first week. Alas, this is just the third one.

I had recently promised myself that I would quit smoking. Problem is, I knew I was lying to myself when I made that promise too. And so I botched many more promises I made to myself and to others.

What have you been doing to make good of these and more broken promises, folks would ask. To be honest, nothing much. Maybe a little, at least I am writing this blog post. But really I ought to be doing a whole lot more. The problem is that I find myself doing about a gazzilion things at any given time. This takes it’s toll on me(hey I’m not superman).

I’m really more than your average everyday guy. First off, I’m a MAN. I don’t mean this in the context of gender. No, it’s more about my everyday responsibilities and I’ve got loads of them. I have to wake up and take a shower(mighty hard work!). I have to delegate the house chores to my better half(matrimony rocks!!) and I have to go to work(oh blimey!!!).

All these can be exceptionally tiring, especially doing the house chores(did I say that I lovingly pass it over to wifey?) but I still get round them like a MAN.

Then there is matrimony and fatherhood. A lot of promises get made and broken as a father and a husband. Some, unfortunately and some intentionally. Again the hard work associated with being a husband and a father takes it’s toll too.

Imagine what turning down a steady stream of advances from hot “smallies” can do to a husband’s mental stability(yeah I stay faithful *tongue out*). That has to make up for (almost) forgetting my wife’s birthday. I had promised to take her out but I spent most of the day making money for US! That should earn me an extra point too right?

Then I botched a trip me and my family were supposed to take to the beach. The excuse, no money. The real excuse, I didn’t withdraw money from my no-atm account on time on a friday because of… Yes you guessed right. Work. My daughter is too young to be disappointed so I guess I saved some change that will go into her welfare in the nearest future.

Then there is work. Oh, you should talk to my dissatisfied clients. Or maybe you shouldn’t.

The truth is that as long as I am “on the grind”, I can’t help but break some promises I make. Most especially if those promises contradicts my present goal. So if I’ve made a promise to you in recent times and haven’t come through, I am truly and deeply sorry about you being on a LONG TIN.

11 responses

  1. kay

    Finally!!! An update…brilliant wordplay as usual.

    May 12, 2011 at 10:32 pm

    • How I go do na. Ok, I promise that I’ll write more frequently. AMEN!

      May 12, 2011 at 10:38 pm

  2. queen

    Lol.. Very nice. I c u haven’t stopped(smoking). Lazy lazy u.

    May 13, 2011 at 6:46 am

    • Sorry love, don’t think I’ll quit soon. I’ll try sha.

      May 13, 2011 at 11:35 pm

  3. pootiecash

    mayb u & ur sis shud put these pieces into a book… 1up 2dem waterside people…

    May 13, 2011 at 7:31 am

  4. Postar Gaimboy

    Hmmm! Makes for very easy and interesting reading. I like the way you struck a balance between serious issues like marriage responsibilities in terms of physical presence and the ability to generate income for the family.Serious issues yet you humored us with clever subtle phrases that keep the reader relaxed and interested in the next line. In a world where Most people of our generation shy away from certain real life situations and instead sterotype their columns to the illusion that its all good and subliminally wish they could summon the courage to write straight from the heart. Well done, I look forward to reading more

    May 13, 2011 at 12:18 pm

    • To be very honest, I didn’t think about all those smart stuff. I guess I just wrote from the heart. Thanks though.

      May 13, 2011 at 11:45 pm

  5. sunshynrae

    Pretty sweet piece. It felt as heartfelt as it felt sincere. Thumps up abt staying faithful, I realise these days its no small feat.

    May 15, 2011 at 4:48 pm

    • I think faithfulness is one of the only ways a marriage can work.

      Thanks for the comment.

      May 16, 2011 at 6:21 pm

  6. jadedlulu

    nice one sweet

    May 16, 2011 at 4:53 pm

Leave a Reply

